Tags

, , , , ,

Dorian wasn’t always named Dorian. No, he didn’t have some silly name from a 12 year-old like Godzilla, Spike, or Iggy. In fact, he had no name at all. A five-year-old iguana and no one had deemed him worthy enough of a name. I told the Girlfriend, now Wife, all about him when I first saw him August 6, 2006 in Casselberry, FL. I described him as the poor iggy with no name, and I knew it was love at first sight.

Most people don’t understand the small adorable baby iggy they see at their local pet store will someday grow to a massive 20 lbs. six foot long cranky SOBs that live 20 years. They’re hard to take care of requiring specialized husbandry and veterinarian care, and all the expenses that go with it, and to top it all off, they won’t bond with you until the time between ages five and ten. Clearly, iguanas are not for everyone.

Dorian was given up to one of those awesome local independent pet stores that specializes in reptiles. Pet Bazaar had him housed in a metal cage outside the store; (it was August in Orlando). The guys at Pet Bazaar had little info on him, other than someone brought him in cause he was getting too big and unruly. The store was reselling him for $100, a fair price for an iggy his size.

Dorian wasn’t in the best condition. He was a little thin, had some burn marks, and a slight case of MBD. Also, a large chunk of his tail had been torn off at some point, the length of which indicates it was more than a nestmate’s nip. But other than getting a bit puffy, he was incredibly easy to handle. In fact, he was downright cuddly.

I had just recently lost a pair of quadricornis chameleons to illness, one of which passed away just days after I arrived in Florida. Overcome with grief, lonely in a new state with no friends or local ties, I really wanted to get a new pet to fill the void. I was torn between the iggy with no name and a cute juvenile frilled dragon. The previous Christmas, I had purchased a baby iguana for the Girlfriend, which we presumed was a boy. Knowing the risks of having two male iguanas in the same home (granted, five years in the future), iggy with no name was at a disadvantage to find his new home with me. But I just couldn’t leave him there, and I knew I had to take him home with me.

I’ve now had Dorian for almost six years and I can’t imagine life without him. He’s such a funny little guy and so full of character. I’ve had a YouTube channel of Dorian and my other lizard kids for about two years, so I figured it was about time to start detailing all the funny stories I’ve accumulated over the years. I hope you enjoy the blog. Iggy Out!

