Tags

, , , , ,

I took the funniest video tonight. I haven’t edited it yet, but I know it’s gonna be a good one. I’m actually quite a bit backed up on video editing, I just haven’t really made any videos since I made Dorian’s birthday video last year and Boudicca’s passing just four months later. It’s been three years and I still can’t watch Ulee’s last video without tearing up. I don’t know when I’ll get to Boudicca’s last video. Sorry bout that sudden depression in tone. When I finish it, I’ll be sure to put it up here, but until then, I’ll just have to describe the funniness. We’ve tried to get Dorian and Cali to eat snacks from the same plate, and it just hasn’t worked. Cali is way too scared of Dorian and the big bully that he is, Dorian stands near to the plate, letting her know that it’s his plate of snacks. Well, tonight, I placed a paper plate full of Michigan cherries, 21 to be exact, on the floor in Irwin’s room. Dorian was near the doorway, and I had Cali sitting with me. I put the plate on the floor and told Dorian and Cali the cherries were there for them. Well, Dorian decides to sit by the door and tell Cali who’s boss and whose cherries those were. Cali had no such compunction. In fact, after taking one look at Dorian and noticing that he had no intention of attacking her or the Michigan cherries, she attacked that plate like Charlie Sheen in a brothel with an all-you-can-snort cocaine bar. She was pigging out and Dorian just sat there incredulously, like “I gave a headbob. Why does she not stop? What is this madness?” (Kudos if you get the 300 reference) Cali’s snarfing away all the while, making sure she picks all the dark red ones out (thinking they might be riper, I suppose). She’s also periodically eyeballing Dorian to see if he’s going to bull rush her for them, and when he doesn’t she just shrugs her little air-headed shoulders and keeps on snarfing. Finally, I have to hold Cali back, which she snuffs at me as if to say, “Daa-aaad! I was eating all the yummy cherries!” And like all good fathers, I made sure Dorian got his fill too, you know, the whole balanced parenting and learning how to share lesson, right? Dorian strolls up to plate, and continues to stare a hole into Caliban, “How dare she, Sir?! How dare she!” Eventually, he figured out she wasn’t going to eat the rest from under his nose, and he succumbed to the Michigan Cherry Madness and relished the last nine cherries. The other quirky thing was how they were eating. Cali took her time, selecting which cherry she wanted, and positioning them in her mouth just right. Dorian acted more like a vacuum cleaner, yet was careful enough to bite each cherry to release some of the fruit’s juices before he swallowed the down. The wife’s in North Carolina for a conference, so she missed this hilarious exercise, but I’ll show it to when she gets back Sunday.

