Tags

, , ,

disapproving_iggyThis is Amber again with the next installment in our chronicle of my travels with iggy to the east coast.

Since I’ve helped Theo move four times, I can say that the most difficult thing about moving are moving the kids’ tanks. Dorian’s tank was almost impossible to get into his apartment in DeKalb (and almost impossible to get out). Gobo’s tank was impossible to get out of that apartment, and we had to leave it behind. Finding a place in the DC area was made more challenging by the need to find a place that would fit both Dorian and Gobo’s tanks. Our incredibly helpful friends looked at places for us equipped with tape measures to make sure we could fit the tanks through doorways. It was even more difficult to find a place that was ok with the reptiles, which is a story for another blog post.

We also rented the largest truck Budget had available in order to fit the tanks in. This was a 24-foot diesel monster that I was so grateful my dad offered to help with. (He used to drive delivery trucks for a lumberyard, so driving these kind of trucks was something he was used to.) The engine was loud in the cab and everything rumbled, which made me a bit nervous for how the kids would travel. (Though part of me also thought that Dorian would enjoy it; I almost bought him a trucker hat for the trip.) Dorian, Gobo, and Caliban each had a large duffel to travel in, and Irwin had a small box. We decided that the best plan was for me to take the skittish girls, Gobo and Caliban, in the car, and for my dad to take the boys in the truck.

We loaded the kids in the car and the truck around 5:30pm. I put Cali on the floor in the front seat and Gobo on the floor of the back seat. My dad set Dorian carefully on the floor of the truck, and Irwin sat in his box next to my dad. And we were off. We made it to the Indiana border, through Indianapolis, and then stopped in Richmond shortly before we crossed into Ohio. We woke up Irwin when we peeked in at him, but by that time, (after 9pm) everyone was fast asleep for the night. Once Dorian got comfy in the truck, my dad said, he was out for almost the whole trip. Cali wasn’t so quiet. Once we started the trip, she scratched around for a while until she got comfortable, and it helped for her to hear me talking. After that, though, she would wake up every couple of hours trying to scratch her way out of the bag. Our next stop was Wheeling, OH at around 3:30am, and then we drove through a section of West Virginia and the hills of Pennsylvania, making it to the Maryland border shortly before the sun came up. We hit the greater DC area just in time for morning traffic.

We were all road weary and tired once we finally made it to the apartment and unloaded the kids in the truck. I set Dorian’s bag down in the empty living room and let him wander around. He explored the empty rooms with curiosity, interested and a bit excited to explore his new home. We’re still settling in here, but Dorian’s happy to explore.

