Tags

, , , , ,

The relationship between my lizard kids never ceases to amaze me. I have written on this before, but Dorian the Iguana and Irwin the Bearded Dragon love hanging out together on the couch. This is especially true when Dorian has been out most of the day, (normally after he makes his evening rounds natch). The routine is usually this, Dorian gets down at 4:30 p.m., does his rounds, usually comfy-ing down in a bedroom for a while, before meandering out to the kitchen to watch what we’re doing while we fix dinner. When he gets tired, grumpy, or just plain underfoot, we’ll put him on top of the couch give him a treat. Not long after that, (and usually the juicier the fruit, the more likely it is to put him in a food coma), he’ll start to wiggle around and get comfy on the space between the window and couch. It’s pretty entertaining to watch as he stretches and pushes himself and the cushions to get into a prime spot for dozing.

Sometime after that, we’ll do much the same with Irwin, he gets his bath, maybe a treat (or veggies if he’s been stubborn and not snacked his greens) and either keep him with us while we work and read, or just as often. Let him crawl up with Dorian on the couch and go to sleep there.

DSC08077

The humorous part there is how often Dorian or Irwin use the other for the most uncomfortable-looking pillow. On this particular night, Dorian was using poor Irwin as a footrest. Keep in mind, and you can tell from the pictures included, how much bigger Dorian is than Irwin. His head alone is nearly the entire length of Irwin’s body, and his toes are nearly as long as Irwin’s tail. I’d be lying if I didn’t wonder about Irwin’s well being at times, but not once as either seemed to upset by the other’s actions.

DSC08081Irwin for his part didn’t seem to mind the ginormous foot covering his back. I can’t stand having my wife’s frigid feet on me, not sure I’d be all that enthused to have Shaquille O’Neal’s size 22 dogs on my back either, especially if his toenails looked like Jim Carrey’s in Dumb and Dumber. Eech… let that image sink in for a minute for you.

In the end, I think it just shows another side of the personality that my scaly kids are blessed with, one so many friends and acquaintances have the most difficult time comprehending. Dorian and Irwin have come to some kind of agreement, it seems to be working. Who am I to judge?

